Marè Resort


The project aimed at the complex restoration, in terms of accommodation, of the second floor of ancient Palazzo Antonacci Telesio, built in 1761 and renovated in 1845 by architect Luigi Castellucci, who designed the amazing neoclassical facade which standing between the bright Piazza Quercia and the harbour.

The technical rooms  over the main floor, which in the original intentions were used as warehouse for building’s ventilation and isolation, have been totally reformulated into 13 suites, gathered around evocative paths and distribution itinerary overlooking the graceful cloister together with Cavour Street.

A pair of elevators-towers  recovered from air shaft near the secondary stairway links with the Relais, respecting  at the same time the typical features of the original architecture. At the arrival, where a sinuous helicoidal staircase leads to an upper terrace, many paths and intimate areas such as the Cafeteria and the Lounge bring visitors into the facility. At the ground floor,  once used as storeroom, nowadays the reception strategically stands.

The interiors’ organisation has been adapted to the harsh accuracy of the neoclassical facades layout, choosing a few exclusive materials to dress up a variety  of furnishings, fittings and decorative bespoke accessories: Trani stone, oak wood, brushed metals, linen, monochromatic cotton and velvet are the ingredients  for a vibrant visual and tactile blend.

This project has been realized together with Culti’s artistic direction, whose well-known philosophy of a sophisticated and elegant lifestyle has been reinterpreted by NCB overseeing both architectural and lighting choices and the furnishings design too.